If you’re under the age of 17, then you don’t have to worry about fishing without a license, however if you’re reading this blog, it’s more than likely that you’re over the age of 17 and required to have a fishing license– If you’re serious about the sport, that is.
Anyone over the age of 17 is required to have a registered license if they wish to take fish, clams, crayfish, or other aquatic life from both freshwater and saltwater in the state of Texas. In any case where you’re looking to take frogs and turtles, then you need a hunting license. The only exception to obtaining a required fishing license is on Free Fishing Day, which takes place the first Saturday in June annually for Texas.
For residents under the age of 65, you can purchase licenses at varying prices:
- Freshwater: $30
- Saltwater: $35
- All-Water: $40
Seniors receive significant discounts for their license packages:
- Freshwater: $12
- Saltwater: $17
- All-water: $22
Compared to the fines you receive when fishing without a valid license, this Texas fishing licenses are not a high price to pay. You can find other fishing license information for the state of Texas on the Texas Parks & Wildlife website.
In addition to a fishing license, you are required to have a fishing endorsement for both freshwater and saltwater if you plan to take fish from public waters. This is essential for anglers to know and follow responsibly to ensure they won’t receive a fine if caught without a license or endorsement.
Fishing Fines & Penalties
If you’re a true, respectable angler, then you follow the Texas Parks and Wildlife code. ANyone caught engaging in activity that breaks this code will face penalties, and can expect fines to come along with those penalties.
For a Class C offense you can face fines anywhere between $25-500. For $5 more, you could have simply purchased a license. Class B or higher offenses have potential jail time, and fines ranging between $200-1000 depending on the class and the crime.
At that point, you’re better off following the rules and fishing with a license so you can ensure you won’t be fined. In addition to fines, you can also face penalties when breaking the Texas state fishing laws. Even if you do carry a registered license, that could be suspended for up to 5 years.
It’s pretty clear that the state of Texas takes their fishing laws seriously. Follow the Parks and Wildlife code– Ensure that you’re fishing without the fines.